“It is important to see the linkages between different issues and to address them in a holistic way”

Julia_UfH.png

Our last Team Member Profile of the year is dedicated to one of United for Hope’s founding members,  Julia Hollaender.

My name is Julia and I currently live in Munich, Germany. I studied South Asian Studies and Human Rights with a focus on women’s rights and gender equality. For the past years I have been working in development projects in Germany and Asia and at the University of Munich. I love experiencing different cultures, nature, literature and yoga. I am one of the founding members of United for Hope so I have been there from the beginning. I have been working mainly on program planning, legal set-up, fund-raising and grant writing.

  1. What brought you to United for Hope?

I met the founder Tara while we were both volunteering for another organization. We shared our experiences from India, exchanged ideas about sustainable development and thought about future visions. Tara told me about her travels to the project village and how she would like to create a more lasting impact. Soon thereafter we started outlining the vision and registered the NGO as a legal entity in Germany.

  1. What is one thing about United for Hope that you feel the readers should know?

What I especially like about United for Hope is how we are working with the people on many different levels. It all started with sanitation, hygiene, education and solar power. Now we have an encompassing education program in our Community Center for children and adults and an empowering project for women. Additionally, the clean water and the solar power projects are providing a source of income for the local people as a social enterprise. I truly believe that it is important to see the linkages between different issues and to address them in a holistic way. We have great partnerships in India as well as in the US and Europe and I am confident that we will achieve great outcomes with the projects ahead of us. I am proud that we have come so far in such a short time and currently we have a wonderful new project called Seeds of Hope which won the 8 Billion Fellowship by the Impact Hub Munich and Munich RE. The project is designed to empower women farmers through confidence training and education in nutrition, literacy and business basics. I look forward to the next years which I hope will be filled with empowerment, success stories (which often include failures as well), surprises and happiness.

Leave a Reply

